Sunday, September 25, 2011

Young Guns stay on top!

Twenty two players battled in Round 4 of Ashland XXIII with six battles ending peacefully. Adam Shaw (1807) managed to slow down Ben Caiello (1630) holding him to a draw with Ben holding on to the top spot by 1 point. Paul Farb (1912) split the point with Erik Murrah (1734) as Lendel Robinson (1579) upset George Morton (1651). Ralph Buske (1473) agreed to a draw with Dan Caiello (1469) and Darell Hunt (1297) survived a nail biter that went down to final minutes against Paul Lowry (1195)

In the Amateur Section, Cody Kyzer (1211) survived a dubious opening line to split the point with Richard Watts (1139) and hang on to the lead by .5 point. Mike Mayfield (1281) took the point from Mark Woodman (1143), Birney Blind (1209) won over Christian Dunlap (938), David Boyd (1374) drew with Jaime Sanyer (1163), Chris Labrecque (1354) returned and defeated Drew Plyler (1072) and James Doyle (1190) split the point with Mike Meekins (1055.

The final round is Thursday, Sept 29.

Upcoming tournaments:

Oct 1 - Charlotte - Reverse Angle 23

Oct 7-9 - Charleston - 2nd Annual National Chess Day & Festival
Note: Correction to prizes: TLA for the National Chess Day and Festival tournament in Charleston on 7-9, 2011, has an error. In the Under 1800 section for prizes, it should read "u1600 - $100" instead of "u1400 - $100". The under 1400 prize is, of course, in the Under 1400 section.

Oct 14-16 - Columbia - 72nd SC Championships

Saturday, September 17, 2011

B Caiello & Kyzer still perfect after 3 Rounds!

Eighteen players battled in Round 3 of Ashland XXIII. Ben Caiello (1630) upset Erik Murrah (1734) to successfully defend Board 1 and stay atop the Open Section with 3 points. Paul Farb (1912) ground out the win over George Morton (1651), Adam Shaw (1807) took the point from Gil Holmes (1783) and Lendel Robinson (1579) split the point with Dan Caiello (1469).

In the Amateur Section, Cody Kyzer (1211) continued his impressive run with a win over Darell Hunt (1297) to stay in clear first with 3 points. Richard Watts (1139) outlasted Birney Blind (1209), Mark Woodman (1143) was left standing with point when the dust cleared in his battle with "Patriot" Christian Dunlap (938). Visiting Eddy Pinto (1272) took the point from Drew Plyler (1072) and David Boyd (1374) was convinced to split the point by Mike Mayfield (1281).

The Penultimate Round is next week, Thursday Sept 22.

There are THREE weekend tournaments coming up in October:

Oct 1 - Charlotte - Reverse Angle 23

Oct 7-9 - Charleston - 2nd Annual National Chess Day & Festival

Oct 14-16 - Columbia - 72nd SC Championships

Check at the club for members that are planning to attend these events if you'd like to car pool/share room.

The Live Game broadcast will be back soon (possibly next week!)

Thursday, September 15, 2011

B Caiello & Kyzer lead after 2 rounds!

Twenty players competed in Round 2 of Ashland XXIII. B Caiello (1630) upset Paul Farb (1912) to move into clear first with 2 points. Gil Holmes (1783) took the point from D Caiello (1469) as Erik Murrah (1734) defeated Paul Lowry (1195). Adam Shaw (1807) settled peacefully with George Morton (1651) and Lendel Robinson (1579) escaped with a draw against Ralph Buske (1473).

In the Amateur Section, Cody Kyzer (1211) won over Birney Blind (1209) to stand alone at the top with 2 points. Darell Hunt (1297) scored the point over Mike Mayfield (1281), Richard Watts (1139) won over Christian Dunlap (938) while Mark Woodman (1143) defeated Mike Meekins (1055). Jaime Sanyer (1163) was held to a draw by Ron Labrecque (1071).

Round 3 is Thursday, Sept 15.

Sunday, September 4, 2011

Ashland XXIII Begins

Sixteen players competed in Round 1 of Ashland XXIII. In the Open Section, Paul Farb (1912) took the point from Lendel Robinson (1579), Ben Caiello (1630) won over Ralph Buske (1473) and George Morton (1651) settled peacefully with Dan Caiello (1469).

In the Amateur Section, Cody Kyzer (1211) scored the win over Drew Plyler (1072), Birney Blind (1209) defeated Mike Meekins (1055), Christian Dunlap (938) upset Jaime Sanyer (1163), Nathan Huffaker (UNR) outlasted Mark Woodman (1143) in the evening's longest battle and Darell Hunt (1297) drew with Richard Watts (1139).

Round 2 will be Thursday, Sept 8.