Saturday, February 26, 2011

The Club Championship Begins!

The 2011 Columbia Chess Club Championship kicked off with twenty-four players competing in Round 1. This is our strongest tournament to date with thirteen players in B Class or above! If you missed the first round you can still join in Round 2 with a .5 point first round bye.

Defending Champ Philipp Lamby (2190) defeated Gil Holmes (1805) to begin his title defense. Keith Eubanks (2022) was able to grind out a win over David Vetterlein (1800) in the evenings longest game. James MacDougall (1993) scored a first round win over Adam Shaw (1699) and a returning Edsel Pena (1986) was able to survive against Erik Murrah (1691). Paul King (1924) took the point with a little help from Steve Boshears (1626) and Paul Farb (1908) defeated Ralph Buske (1452) as the top half suffered no upsets in Round 1.

In the second half of the accelerated pairings Cody Kyzer (1252) won over Mark Woodman (1045) as Shiva Balasubramanian (1236) scored his sixth straight win defeating Mike Meekins (982). Birney Blind (1233) posted a win over Christian Dunlap (851) and new member Alex Humphreys (830) scored the upset win over Jaime Sanyer (1185). Daniel Smith (1313) was held to a draw by Richard Watts (1129) and Mike Mayfield (1275) settled peacefully with Drew Plyler (1054).

Round 2 will be Thursday, Mar 3. Pairings will be accelerated for this round then normal pairings take over.

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Up Next - The Club Championship!!

Casual night saw a dozen players come out and enjoy a fine presentation on the power of passed pawns by Daniel Smith. After the entertaining and informative lecture a Blitz tournament broke out among six players. Paul Farb was in rare form as he posted a perfect 5-0 to take clear first ahead of Kyle Oody, Joerg Lohse and Gil Holmes who all finished 3-2.

The Club Championship begins next week, Thurs. Feb 24. Here are the details:

Five round Swiss. One round a week for five weeks, Feb 24, Mar 3, 10, 17 & 24. Club members only, can join on site in any round. Registration ends at 7:15 each week.

Entry fee $10 ($2/rd). One bye allowed, No last round byes. Rounds start at 7:30.

Open Section only, Game 90. Accelerated Pairings will be used. Trophies to 1st, 2nd, Top U1605, Top U1205 and Top Jr. Trophy winners also receive 1yr club membership.

NO CASH PRIZES this tournament

Two time and defending Champ Philipp Lamby is expected to defend his title against main challengers Keith Eubanks (2008 Champ), James MacDougall (Runner Up in '09 & '10), Paul Farb ('10 Club Player of the Year), Paul King, and David Vetterlein as well as some of our young lions.

This is usually our largest tournament of the year with 30+ players competing and, as always, you are not required to play every round. You can show up for any round and be paired. Five trophies are up for grabs so everyone has a chance to take home some hardware in the Battle for the Midlands!

Sat, Feb 26 will be the Kings & Cops charity tournament in Lexington. Entry fee is only $10 for this three round tournament. Check the Flyer for full details

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Ashland Quick XXIII and Other Notes

Twelve players compete in three quads in Ashland XXIII. In the Top Quad, Keith Eubanks (1972) scores a perfect 3-0 to take clear first! Philipp Lamby (2114) takes second.Ben Caiello (1610) & Dan Caiello (1306) tied for first in the Middle Quad with 2 points. In the Lower Quad a final round showdown between Craig Patton (1030) and Cody Kyzer (953) decided First & Second with Kyzer getting the best of Patton to finish a perfect 3-0!

Next week is Casual Night, come out for some "Stress Free" chess!

The first standings for the Year End Awards have been posted. Note that the Team Challenge does not count toward POY or Most Active.

The Club Database has now grown to over 1000 games!! Thanks to Richard for keeping the database growing!!

The Kings & Cops tournament will be Sat, Feb 26 in Lexington.

There will be an event Mar 5, possibly a Club Match with Queen City or a small rated Swiss. Daniel Smith is organizing this. Check back for further details.

The Club Championship will begin on Thursday, Feb 24. Defending Champ and current State Champ Philipp Lamby is expected to defend his title in a field that should include Experts Keith Eubanks and James MacDougall as well as strong A players Paul King, Paul Farb and Joerg Lohse. Thirty three players competed in last year's edition. This will be an Open Section with Trophies awarded to First, Second, Top U1605, Top U1205 and the Top Jr. Player. You can join the club onsite and compete in the Battle for the Midlands!

Sunday, February 6, 2011

Knight Riders win Team Challenge II !!!

The Knight Riders draw the Patriots to win Ashland XIX!! Adam Shaw (1605) defeated Ben Caiello (1487) on board 1, Russell Thurmond (1600) drew with Dan Caiello (1436) on board 2 and Shiva Balasubramanian (1267) finished a perfect 5-0 with a final round win over Christian Dunlap (797) to secure first place for the Knight Riders.

The Gambiting Gamblers beat the Good Guys 2-1 to finish .5 point out of first. James MacDougall (1947) ground out the win over Paul Farb (1935), Daniel Smith (1364) outlasted Birney Blind (1225) and Richard Watts (1126) won over Mike Meekins (925).

We Three Kings finished with a win over Eighth Rank 2-1. Keith Eubanks (2012) won over Steve Boshears (1601) as Ralph Buske (1468) took the point from Paul Lowry (1032). The final point went to Cody Kyzer in a forfeit over the shorthanded Eighth Rank.

King and Two Pawns took down the Barnwell Board Busters in tough struggle 2-1. Paul King (1946) scored the win over David Vetterlein (1817), Mark Woodman (1045) took the point from David Boyd (1155) and Max Witherell (979) picked up the point over Roger Allen (UNR).

The board winners were:

Board 1: James MacDougall and Paul Farb tie with 3.5 points with the tie breaker going to Farb!

Board 2: Ralph Buske finishes with a win and 4 points to claim the prize by .5 point over Dan Caiello!

Board 3: Shiva Balasubramanian goes a perfect 5-0 to win the trophy!! Richard Watts finished second with 3.5.

Next week is Ashland Quick XXIII.

The Club Championship will start Feb 24.