Sunday, January 29, 2012

B Caiello leads Open Section with 3.5!

Eighteen players came out to compete in the penultimate round of Ashland XXV. Ben Caiello (1880) defeated co leader Darell Hunt (1387) to move into sole possession of first place heading into the final round. Lendel Robinson (1628) claimed the point from Dan Caiello (1575), Chris Labrecque (1366) outlasted Daniel Smith (1513) and Ralph Buske (1501) scored the quick point over Ron Hinds (1817). Paul Farb (1946) settled peacefully with Erik Murrah (1708).

Ron Tims (1389) won over Mike Mayfield (1300) to claim the top spot in the Amateur Section. Ron Labrecque (1063) found the win over Richard Watts (1230), Sean McCoy (1285) took the point from Kenneth Cross (651) and Cody Kyzer (1480) escaped with a draw with Christian Dunlap (984).
The Final Round is Thursday, Feb 2.

The 38th Snowstorm Special will be held in Charleston Feb 11-12.

The Club Championship will begin Feb 23.

Saturday, January 21, 2012

B Caiello & Hunt lead Open Section!!

Twenty players mixed it up in Round 3 of Ashland XXV and the top spots in both sections saw changes. B Caiello (1880) took down leader Paul Farb (1946) to claim the top spot along with Darell Hunt (1387) who defeated D Caiello (1575). James MacDougall (2009) took the point from Gil Holmes (1804) and Daniel Smith (1513) crashed through and secured the poiint from Ralph Buske (1501). Erik Murrah (1708) and Lendel Robinson (1628) finally agreed to settle peacefully in the evening's longest game.

In the Amateur Section, Ron Tims (1389) took the point and the top spot from Richard Watts (1230) as Mike Mayfield (1300) secured the point over Jaime Sanyer (1219) to create a tie for first. Birney Blind (1177) used a well timed strike to snatch the point from Shaun McCoy (1285), Ron Labrecque (1063) secured the point from Mike Meekins (986) and Kenneth Cross (651) ground out the win over Christian Dunlap (984).

Round 4 is Thursday, Jan 27.

The second round of the first Evans Weekly Rapids is Monday evening, Jan 23.

The 25th Land of the Sky is coming up Jan 27-29 in Asheville, NC. The pre registration list is available HERE.

The World's Best are playing in the Tata Steel Chess Tournament held in Wijk aan Zee thru Jan 29. Gata Kamsky and Hikaru Nakamura from the U.S. are competing. After five rounds, World #1 Magnus Carlsen and #2 Levon Aronian are at the top of the Crosstable.

Friday, January 20, 2012

Weak Square Judges Chess Life Online Articles

Columbia Chess Club's own, Erik "Weak Square" Murrah was chosen by WGM Jennifer Shahade as one of the judges for the 2011 Chess Life Online article of the year competition.

You can read about it here. 2011 CLO Article of the Year

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Farb leads Open Section after two rounds!

Eighteen players competed in Round 2 of Ashland XXV. Paul Farb (1946) defeated Dan Caiello (1575) and stands alone at the top of the Open Section with 2 points. Erik Murrah (1708) scored the win over David Boyd (1461) as Darell Hunt (1387) outlasted Daniel Smith (1513). Ben Caiello (1880) was held to a draw by Lendel Robinson (1628) and Ralph Buske (1501) settled peacefully with Chris Labrecque (1366).

In the Amateur Section, Richard Watts (1230) is on top with 2 points after defeating Mike Meekins (986). Jaime Sanyer (1219) scored the win over Kenneth Cross (651) as Birney Blind (1177) took the point from Christian Dunlap (984). Mike Mayfield (1300) was able to hold the draw with Shaun McCoy (1285).

Round 3 is Thursday, Jan 19.

The 25th Land of the Sky is coming up Jan 27-29. The organizer is working hard to make this the best LOTS ever! If you haven't been you should try and make it. It's a good tournament in a nice location. Who's going?

Sunday, January 8, 2012

Twenty players for Round 1 of Ashland XXV

Twenty players battled in Round 1 of Ashland XXV. In the Open Section, Paul Farb (1946) won over Daniel Smith (1513), Ben Caiello (1880) took the point from Ralph Buske (1501), Lendel Robinson (1628) defeated Chris Labrecque (1366) and Dan Caiello (1575) scored the upset over Adam Shaw (1815). Gil Holmes (1804) was held to a draw by David Boyd (1461) and Erik Murrah (1708) split the point with Darell Hunt (1387).

In the Amateur Section, Ron Tims (1389) won over Birney Blind (1177), Mike Mayfield (1300) defeated Julie Sheil (1118), Shaun McCoy (1285) scored the win over Ron Labrecque (1063) and Richard Watts (1230) took the point from Christian Dunlap (984).

Round 2 will be Thursday, Jan 12. Register by 7:15, Round begins at 7:30.

Reverse Angle 25 is January 14 in Charlotte

Land of the Sky is Jan 27-29 in Asheville, NC

38th Snowstorm Special is Feb 11-12 in Charleston

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Ashland Action II Results

Congratulations to Adam Shaw for winning Ashland Action with 3.5 points!

Gil Holmes and Dan Quigley tied for 2nd with 3.0 points. Patrick McCartney, Bill Hater, and Lendel Robinson round out the plus-score group each with 2.5 points.


Registration for Ashland XXV ends at 7:15 p.m. on 1/5/12. The entry fee is $2, no prizes will be awarded this tournament. There will be 5 rounds, 1 round per week, of G90 + 5.