Saturday, March 27, 2010

Rematch!! - Lamby - Eubanks in the Final Round!

Twenty four players competed in the Penultimate Round of the Club Championship. Keith Eubanks (2006) defeated leader James MacDougall (1942) to grab a share of the Championship Lead heading into the final round. Philipp Lamby (2199) took the point from Paul Farb (1930) before the seats were warm to stake his claim to the top spot going into to the final round. 2009 Champ Lamby will face 2008 Champ Eubanks in a rematch of the final round of last year's championship. MacDougall and Boshears trail by .5 point.

Steve Boshears (1653) stayed a half point back by defeating a determined Marty Anderson (775) who was looking for (and nearly found!) his second straight upset. Mike Meekins (1140) did manage to pull off the upset over Adam Shaw (1515) and now leads for the Top U1600 trophy with 3 points. Paul King (1816) bounced back from his loss to defeat Mark Acklie (972) as Erik Murrah (1669) patiently outlasted Daniel Smith (1203). Ralph Buske (1402) scored his second straight win defeating Craig Patton (1136), Ron Tims (1353) won over Paul Lowry (1092) and Richard Watts (1256) escaped with the point from Christian Dunlap (770). Shiva Balasubramanian (1003) defeated Andrew Villeneuve (387) as Micah Goss (UNR) scored the win over Gavyn Kopcho (110) creating a three way tie for the U1200 Trophy. Mike Mayfield (1391) scored the win over Jonathan Bundy (UNR) in the evening's final game.

The current crosstable is HERE.

The projected Final Round pairings are HERE. These are subject to change based on attendance.

The Final Round of the Club Championship will be Thursday, April 1.

Details for the Lee Hyder Memorial in Aiken have been posted HERE.

The Saturday Knights tournament scheduled for April 10 has been CANCELLED.

No comments:

Post a Comment