Friday, March 22, 2013

MacDougall wins the 2013 Club Championship!!

James MacDougall (2027) outlasted Randal Gingerich (1726) in a sharp position with time running low for both players to finish in clear first with 4.5 points and win the 2013 Columbia Chess Club Championship!! The Runner Up in 2009 & 2010 took a first round bye, then reeled off four straight wins to claim his first club title in a field of twenty seven!

Ben Caiello (2023) won over Adam Shaw (1817) as Philipp Lamby (2225) defeated Chris Labrecque (1632) and really put the pressure on Board 1 as a draw would have created a four way tie for first! Ben takes home the Runner Up Trophy on tie breaks over Philipp.

Josh Lewer (1411) took the point from Christian Dunlap (1066) to finish with 3.5 points and win the U1605 Trophy on tie breaks over Randall. Christian took home the U1205 Trophy beating out five other eligible players.

Andrew Manion (1340) found the win over Jordan Anderson (1245) and claimed the Top Jr. Trophy finishing with 3.5 points.

Leo Rabulan (2112) finished with a win over Ralph Buske (1341), Birney Blind (1242) claimed the point as Shaun McCoy (1414) snatched defeat from the jaws of victory. Paul Potylicki (1509) outlasted Dan Quigley (1801) and Jared Whiting (780) took the point from Guna Yarramareddy (803)

Congratulations to all the 2013 Trophy Winners! Rated results are HERE.

Next week is Ashland Quick XXXVI.

The State Scholastic Championship is this Saturday here in Columbia! Good Luck to our Jr players that are competing!

Upcoming Tournaments:

Apr 13 - Yadkin Valley Senior Quads I, Dobson, NC
Apr 20-21 - 5th Senior Open, Travelers Rest, SC
Apr 27 - Lowry Grand Prix, Evans, GA
May 24-26 - South Carolina Open, Greenville, SC

Be sure to check the SC Calendar & NC Calendar  for a full list of weekend events.

No comments:

Post a Comment